Flying, Groan

I like traveling. I like doing the pre trip research and getting excited over going to see places and eating at restaurants. All of that is fun. (I’m still doing it for my Vegas trip tomorrow!)

However, I have a tiny fear of airplanes. If I can teleport to places instead of flying, I’ll be traveling often!

Sadly, that isn’t going to happen and I’ll need to cope with the anxiety. It’s the pre boarding jitters, because once I’m seated and comfy I feel fine.

It’s not that I’m scared the plane is going to crash or that I have a fear of heights (ok, maybe I have a small fear of the latter), but it’s just anxiety. I can’t pinpoint the exact cause.

It’s like going to the doctor: you get nervous before the appointment but once you’re in the office and getting examined–and after it’s over–the nervousness goes away.

I don’t remember how or when this began, but I didn’t have this as a kid. Traveling was more fun back then.

Anybody else feel this way about flying?

Leave a Reply

