Second Time!!!

john-mayerrr

I will be in the audience of my second John Mayer show in 25 days. It’s less than a month away!! When he announced that he was going on a world tour I immediately started scanning the tour dates, looking for a close enough show.

Vegas was it.

I was surprised that my dad was willing to go with me. I was surprised that I suggested we go! I’ve never gotten on a plane to see a concert on a whim. (The first John Mayer show we went to was courtesy of relatives, who won tickets to see him at The Hollywood Bowl). That was a good show: the venue was nice, the audience was having a fun time and the musicians weren’t missing a beat. It was a sold out show.

That was in 2007.

And while April 22 won’t be exactly seven years since the first show, it’s close enough. This will be a special show for me, because I’ll get to witness the John Mayer Trio in person! They introduced me to the blues and opened up a treasure trove of musicians that I wouldn’t have heard of.

That’s what John Mayer’s been doing for me ever since I was 13. I picked up the guitar because of him: Seeing the music video to “No Such Thing” awakened something in me, and I couldn’t ignore it. I played Room for Squares on repeat until my cousin wanted to throw it out the window. Every album he released after, I bought. I own his two DVDs. I used to sit down with my guitar and go through the tab books for his songs. To this day I still get excited when he announces new music. Whenever I get bored of the guitar for whatever reason, all I have to do is listen to one of his songs or watch a performance of his and I’m back.

Say what you want about his personality, but John Mayer is a great guitar player and songwriter.

I can’t wait for April 22!

Leave a Reply

