The Arts

lead-to-creativity

The arts were an important aspect of my childhood: if I wasn’t in band or reading, what would I be doing? I wasn’t good at math, and while science was interesting, I didn’t like dealing with numbers. Music has numbers too, but it’s not complex like measurements.

When I heard about public schools cutting the arts to pay more attention to exercise, I was disappointed. When my university football program made itself to be in dire need of funds and pushing humanities to the side, I was shocked. People give money to athletic programs, but the arts get left with nothing.

Why?

Now, Trump wants to eliminate the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and its sister agency National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). These are federally funded programs that have done so much for rural America, and saving lives through drawing, painting, reading, writing, music and theater.

I can’t explain the need for continued funding for the Arts in this post, but this article in Paste Magazine can, by looking at how low-income, at-risk children and war veterans will be affected by the proposed cut. And this article in Quartz, documenting how important the NEH is to America’s story.

Yes, we all need to know basic math. We need to embrace technology at work and learn how to use a computer and some software. We need to exercise and be healthy. But we also need to be creative and express who we are. You can’t express your feelings in a spreadsheet.

Leave a Reply

