Food Friday: Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream

History-of-Ice-Cream-1

I LOVE ice cream, and I was curious as to how to make it at home. When my mom bought a KitchenAid stand mixer and later purchased the ice cream maker, I was excited. My boyfriend was equally–if not more–of the same.

I took the equipment to his place, and suggested we make chocolate ice cream. First, we tried the KitchenAid recipe and it turned out more like soft serve and had a strange taste to it (alkaline, as my boyfriend described it). Plus, it contained raw eggs, which was MY concern. (As to why I didn’t realize it as we were making it, well, beats me.)

Since I was worried about the raw eggs, my boyfriend said we should try a recipe that called for the eggs to be cooked. I agreed and we were back in his kitchen with a new recipe…from Alton Brown.

The verdict?

SO much better than the first batch!! We think it was the cooked eggs that made the difference: texture was just like real, bought chocolate ice cream. No strange taste, nothing. We found a winner!

I want to make vanilla next. 🙂

Have you ever made homemade ice cream? How did it turn out and what recipe did you use? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

