Career Wednesday: Resumes and Cover Letters

typing-test

Not sure if I mentioned this before, but I’m job hunting again. A lot of people I talked to are looking to change jobs and some are doing it while others aren’t. It’s easier to stay at a job you hate than look for a better one. Job hunting takes work and the resume and cover letter are the worst and probably the top two consumers of job searching time.

I worked on my resume for about a month and only NOW it’s perfect and ready to be customized for positions. I came up with an easier way to handle multiple applications: create master resume and cover letter templates and when it’s time to apply for a job (at least for the resume) copy and paste your relevant experience and other sections into a new document for that position. The cover letter template is a little difficult but involves keeping the same body paragraphs and changing the company, job title, etc. (I got the cover letter idea from my boyfriend).

What do you do make the resume and cover letter writing easier? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

