Career Wednesday: Volunteering

It’s only been two days since I started volunteering at the Judiciary…and it’s BORING!!! I’ve been doing nothing but checking scans of case files to make sure that they’re correct. The box that the papers are in is this close to getting empty so I’m hoping that I’ll be given something else (read, more exciting) to do afterward.

But I don’t see the point in me volunteering there, because 1) I’m not going into law and 2) I’m not going to work for the State. This is the last time I’m listening to my dad because this does nothing for my career. (His argument is that “nobody knows who you are, and this will get you exposure”…for what?)

The only good thing is that I get to see what it’s like to work in an office, I guess.

Oh, and lunch is also a good thing. Downtown is an interesting place, let me tell ya!

The people are nice, but the work is ugh.

I’m giving myself until the end of August for this: if I still don’t like it, I’m out.

What are your thoughts on this? Am I wrong and make quick judgements? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

