Random Sunday: Other Careers

career

This should be a Career Wednesday post, but I’m low on random topics, so sorry to torture you all with two job related posts in one week haha.

When I was studying English in college, a LOT of people asked me if I wanted to teach, and I always said no. I don’t like public speaking, for one, and working with large groups didn’t appeal to me. But when a former English professor wanted me to tutor one semester, one-on-one, I was all for it. Unfortunately other commitments got in the way and I couldn’t take her up on the offer, but I always wanted to help kids. Not teaching, but tutoring. (If there’s any difference).

But I’ve shifted my wanting to help with English, to music. For quite a while I’ve been toying with the idea of being a private, one-on-one guitar teacher. I won’t be doing that full-time anytime soon, but I want to do something with music in my career. The good thing is that being a private instructor doesn’t require any training or certification, but it’s not easy. A friend of mine is taking ukulele lessons from a guy not much older than us and since he hasn’t been teaching long, only charges $20 an hour. Then again he’s not consistent with his schedule so I don’t know how much my friend is learning, but I digress. I’ve had great and terrible music teachers, and I want to be one of the good ones. I still want to write, but as a side thing I can teach.

Who knows, maybe I’ll keep writing as a hobby and pursue music or something!

Just because I have a degree in a certain field doesn’t mean I have to stick with it for the rest of my life, right? There are plenty of people who do career changes or don’t even work in their field of study. I’m still exploring my options.

For you working folk, are you working in the field that you received a degree in? If not, what do you do? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

