Music Monday: Practice Room

practicing-guitar

Most people practice music in their room, but not me. I practice guitar in our addition, which has my desk and a bookshelf in it. It’s a big room and all of my music stuff is scattered on my desk and in a corner. I actually practice at my desk, using my laptop as a music stand. It’s not ideal but I have to be resourceful.

But this setup is doing me more harm than good.

I read a quote that (partially) said “If you’re practice room looks inviting, you’ll want to spend more time there.” This makes sense: the room is aesthetically pleasing and energizing so of course you’re gonna want to be in there. My guitar teacher has a really big room, but the space that’s devoted to lessons has posters on the walls and the setup is accessible. I do like his studio.

Now, I don’t have a big space to work with, but I’ve been slowly revamping my little corner. I even have a vision as to how I want the space to look. Right now my main investment is a music stand, so I can break away from my laptop and desk and practice the correct way. (I might need a small table for my iPad, notebook and metronome too). As for the setup: my music is organized in a bin with hanging folders, and I have a box with my accessories (capo, picks, etc.) in it. Baby steps.

I’m excited to see what my corner will look like when it’s all done! 🙂 When I move out I want to dedicate an entire room to guitar, so what I’m creating now is a scaled down version of what I’d like to do later on.

If you play an instrument, do you have any tips on how to create an inviting practice area? And this is for everyone: What’s your favorite room in your house? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

