Career Wednesday: Retail Interviews

clothing-Retail

Yesterday I had an interview for Express, and it was the most interesting and tiresome interview I’ve ever been on. It was a group interview, myself and a guy, with the hiring manager and assistant (?) manager asking questions. And it took place at one of the tables outside of Nordstrom, with a lot of talking and action going on around us. I think the setting was a test to see how we did in a hectic environment, but man, it made the interview difficult to get through.

It seemed like a long interview, but it was only 30 minutes and we were asked behavioral questions all relating to customer service. The guy interviewing with me had no problem with those because he used to work in retail, while I stumbled on two of them. Most of the questions had a question within a question, making them really long and convoluted. One question was, “What does customer service mean to you, and tell me about a time you experienced great customer service.” (Now that I think about it, I think I only answered the second half of that question!)

I’m not sure if all retail interviews are conducted like Express’s, but if they are, wow: I applaud people who’ve gone through one retail interview to the next because it requires a lot of concentration. It was nice to be outside, but I would’ve liked to have the interview in a quieter part of the mall. I had to speak louder than normal to be heard. It wasn’t ideal for me, but I survived!

Now all I have to do is wait. I felt good about it after, but now I’m having my doubts.

Have any of you worked in retail? What was your interview like? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

