Job Search Update #5

Road-Journey

(For certain this is not the fifth job search post I’ve typed up, but let’s pretend that it is. I need to start numbering these updates just for my sake).

My grandpa told me that my cousin got a job as a sushi chef, which surprised me. I knew he could cook, but didn’t think he’d want to make sushi. That’s not bad for someone without a college degree right? Or am I being naive and working as a sushi chef is not glamorous?

Anyway, I told my mom and the rest of the family (one cousin couldn’t stop laughing) and we realized, once again, that he was floating from job to job, not going anywhere. When he first moved to Vegas he started working in retail, then was on a music path for a while but kept making excuses for not getting anything done so he ditched that. He started taking online college courses but quit, then got denied being promoted to manager. He quit and started work at another store. The most recent “job” was with some Chinese guy and his business.

Apparently that didn’t last.

I don’t want to think that what he’s been doing thus far has been great, because it isn’t, but if he can get jobs…why can’t I?? I’m talking entry-level jobs and, now, retail. Even though I enlisted help of staffing agencies I haven’t gotten heard of anything, and I’m very open to doing receptionist work. I keep telling myself that I’m going to get a job but it’s hard not to get frustrated when people around me are landing positions and I’m not. I know where my weakness is (the interview), but I haven’t been on one in a while.

I’m not alone in this, but my friends are being productive despite not getting jobs, like going to school. I’m not doing that. The freelance position is at a standstill because the editor isn’t responding to my queries (I even asked one of the staff members to tell her to get in touch with me but nothing). And the reviews site is lacking in regular, weekly posts. I promise that will change.

But, I am networking with people in journalism. That’s one good thing. They may be local Hawaii people, but it’s a start right?

I just need a job so I can start saving. That’s all I’m looking for. I’m lowering my standards for the time being and while I’m not applying to every single job posting, I’m not above retail. All I need is a job. Just gotta keep going and not feel discouraged. Besides, as long as I’m doing something on the side that pertains to my chosen field I’m not going to have a career setback–or so I hope. (Thinking positive!)

“I will get a job.”

Leave a Reply

