Reality Has Set In

Selling-Your-Los-Angeles-Home1

My family and I are back from LA and Disneyland.

Every time I land at LAX I feel a rush of adrenaline–the feeling and possibility that I can do anything and everything’s possible. Maybe it’s Hollywood, or that LA is a celebrity ridden town, but I always feel energized once I arrive. I can’t explain it, but it feels good.

My main objective while in LA (we only stayed three days) was to look at apartments and their neighborhoods, and after a failed attempt on Friday (I said that it was “a sign”), we hit five out of the six places that I had on my list. We went through ghetto areas and nice areas, and in the end only two possible contenders remained (the one we didn’t see is still on the list as well). Currently I’m drafting a new list of potential apartments.

I don’t remember how, but my parents and I managed to get into an argument about, what else, jobs. It’s a catch-22: If I move without a job I might not get an apartment, but getting a job before I move might be not be possible since I’m out-of-state (so far, no luck). It’s frustrating, and when I met up with a former roommate, I told her the same. (She suggested I try working as a secretary, which, to be honest, I considered doing).

I put off talk of jobs and apartments until we came back, and I’m rethinking my job search strategy and LA plan. I know that my problem is the interview, so with help of The Muse, I browsed (and read) most of their articles about job interviews, as well as how to do a better job search. On Sunday I found job, thanks to one of their articles! That made me happy.

Seeing apartments and neighborhoods and all that really put things in perspective: I need to stop being idealistic. I’m gonna work till I get the funds, because that’s the only way I’m going to get things going.

Did you relocate for a job? If so, what was your plan? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

