Untitled Post

I’m not sure if this is an appropriate topic to blog about, considering I’m thinking about sharing this terrible news with people i don’t know, but this is like a public journal so here goes: An “uncle” of mine, who’s been battling throat cancer for months has decided that it was time for him to go. Unfortunately, doctors caught the cancer too late and it was getting worse before he even started chemotherapy, but they did all they could, including a 10 hour surgery that required him to travel to California (Hawaii’s hospital’s aren’t equipped nor staffed to endure that long a procedure).

Since he returned, he’s been in the hospital. My parents went to see him today and he was fine…until the tumor started bleeding again. Even though doctors said removing the tumor was risky since it’s right next to a blood vessel, if they did succeed maybe my uncle wouldn’t have to suffer. But it was better to be safe than sorry.

What baffles me is how crazy that someone can be doing fine, and then be sick again so quickly. Throughout his treatment my uncle’s been in a lot of pain and this was the last test of his strength, having the tumor bleed again. He’s been through a lot and he can’t take it anymore. I understand why he wants to pull the plug, to put himself out his misery…but, it’s…

I’m both angry and sad about this. Angry because he’s such a nice guy and everybody likes him, and sad because he has to go out like this. It doesn’t make sense that terrible things happen to great people, but life isn’t fair and we have to deal with whatever is thrown at us and hope for the best, and try to overcome it.

My grandpa has cancer as well, and he just started his chemotherapy last week. My dad relayed a message to my uncle from him, which was to “stay tough.” My grandpa is such a positive guy, it’s impressive. So far he’s doing well. (I don’t even want to think about him being in my uncle’s position).

While browsing Facebook this quote hit home for me:

“The purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.”-Eleanor Roosevelt

I’m reminded of how short life is whenever I hear of someone dying, and that quote is just another note to live life so when I’m on my deathbed I can go with no regrets. I hope my uncle, despite his suffering, can go like this too.

Leave a Reply

