September ’14 Update

2f0ea3ad-3e23-4fd8-aec1-c04c243c8e00-vision

Has it been a while since my last post? I think so. Here’s an update thus far. This all happened after I got my butt kicked by my parents, especially my mom, about what I’m doing with my life.

School: I withdrew on Wednesday. After 15 minutes I got my pink slip and that was that. I didn’t want to go back anyway so I felt relief once I held that paper.

Job hunt: Applied two two full-time positions this week. I learned to apply and move on, with some interview prep, and if I get a call back to do one, great! If not, that’s okay. There’s not much in the editing/writing/publishing/social media/promotions fields in Hawaii, if anything. (My mom wants me to use my college degree, so no working retail).

Freelance: Sent in my first query for a restaurant review to HONOLULU Magazine, since Frolic didn’t pick it up. Also pitched six ideas for a Top 5 list for Frolic. Maybe I’m not trying hard enough, or it really is a hard job, but freelancing is a little rough. I know this isn’t what I want to do as a real job, but for now it’s the only real writing job I can get. I can’t wait to get my first paycheck.

Moving: I asked my cousin and his girlfriend about rent up in LA, and they gave me suggestions on where to live since I want to work in entertainment.

Has much changed since my last post? A bit, but that’s it for now.

2 thoughts on “September ’14 Update

Leave a Reply

