Religion in Professional Settings

Today I went for my six-week check up with my GI doctor. After asking me how I was doing on the diet he gave me he asked me if I was still looking for a job. I told him yes and he said, I quote, “You’ll find the path that God has for you soon enough.” My ears perked up at the word God…and then he proceeded to ask me if I went to church. When I told him I didn’t, he suggested that I should to “find direction.” He even told me where he and his wife go, and gave options on my side of the island.

I was shocked that he talked about religion, as he did it so naturally (plus, he didn’t strike me as the church going type). It was the first time that I’ve discussed religion with any professional and it was a bit weird. I wasn’t offended, though.

Thoughts? Do you and your doctor talk about religion?

Leave a Reply

