The Most Irritating Things to a Writer

pulling-out-hair

Being a writer is both a blessing and curse: it’s a blessing because we (supposedly) have a way with words and our friends/classmates always come to us when it’s time to edit their papers so we feel wanted. It’s a curse because a misspelled word, grammar error and otherwise terrible writing makes us angry. I know these things hold true for me.

Now, I don’t claim to be perfect when it comes to writing (one of my issues is switching tenses) but when the errors are SO obvious and it’s clear that the writer didn’t take the time to look over their work, man, I just wanna scream and rip my hair out. I’m also very anal when it comes to things being consistent and when it’s not…well, you know.

I was reading an article and it made my criteria of “things in writing that make me wanna scream and rip my hair out”: grammar errors, repetition, inconsistency with the formatting of quotations and priced items, to name a few. The worst part was that it was seen by the editor before being published, and nothing was fixed!! It was so bad that I stopped reading. I didn’t link to the article because you didn’t need to read it; I partially read it so you didn’t have to. 🙂

*Inhales and exhales slowly*

I feel better now.

Leave a Reply

