The Impact of Robin Williams

Robin_Williams-Esquire

Celebrity deaths are sad but I don’t let them affect me. Okay, I may post a status update on Facebook or send out a remembrance Tweet but that’s about it, and I only do that if I knew the celebrity’s work. Afterward it’s business as usual. (The exception to all of this is Michael Jackson).

But Robin Williams’ death has hit me hard. When the news broke I retweeted messages about him like crazy, but I didn’t care. Just two minutes ago I shared a link on Facebook about his death even though I typed one up hours ago. His passing has had such an effect on me that I dedicated an Instagram post to him, something I NEVER did for any past celebrity deaths.

I know I’m not alone in my grieving, because Williams touched everybody, in every generation. He was such a nice guy, with a big heart, who possessed a great gift. I was watching E! News and Terrance Jenkins said that “he [Williams] was like your uncle.” I felt that I knew him through his work. i felt a connection to him, like so many others have.

My first exposure to Williams was in “Aladdin.” I wasn’t old enough to know he voiced Genie, but he quickly became my favorite character. Next was “Dead Poet’s Society,” in 9th grade English. By that time I knew who he was, and whenever one of his movies came on TV or he gave an interview I was excited to see what he was going to do. When he was set to appear in new movies, I was all over them.

There are many comedians I love, and all of them make me feel better if I’ve had a bad day. Williams was one of them: he never failed to elicit a smile from me, and make me laugh till my stomach hurt. I was aware of his problems, as we all were, but all of that melted away once he was in front of the camera. The funny and crazy Williams always amazed me.

I’m still in shock. While watching a few news stories about him I felt like crying. It’s gonna be tough to watch his last four movies, two of which are coming out at the end of the year.

Just like with Jackson, Williams’ passing is not going to fade away quickly. We’re going to be talking about this for a long time. And hopefully we can fulfill his wife’s, Susan Schneider’s, wishes that “the focus will not be on Robin’s death, but on the countless moments of joy and laughter he gave to millions.”

RIP Robin Williams

Leave a Reply

