Rethinking my Career

I didn’t even start grad school and I’m on the fence about what I REALLY want to do for a career. I do like to write, and do want to be a journalist, but I also like counseling. For a while I wanted to be a psychologist with my own private practice, like Frasier, but I realized that I didn’t want to listen to people’s problems all day.

It wasn’t until I started seeing my advisor and career counselor as an undergrad that I saw that being a counselor didn’t need to result in me listening to depressed stories. I could help people in other ways, and people who were just like me (students). I was pretty gung ho about this career and looked at grad schools for counseling but reverted back to journalism.

Now, I’m not so sure. My resume has more writing jobs than teaching, and I definitely missed out on tutoring opportunities while in college (I actually got a job but declined because of my course load that semester).

Gah!

Well, according to some website I looked at, someone with a mass communications degree can become a teacher. I don’t know how truthful THAT is, but maybe it’s true.

Maybe I’m doubting myself because I’m thinking about job security: Journalism has no promise of giving me a secure position for the rest of my life, and I can be laid off at any time. At least with counseling in an academic setting I only have to go through tenure and if I get that, I’m set for life.

I’m so wishy washy that I won’t be surprised if I change my mind tomorrow, but for now, this is where I stand.

One thought on “Rethinking my Career

  1. Do what you love and you can’t go wrong. Don’t worry about the future. If you take one small step each day it will point you somewhere. I just got done watching Oprah’s Master Class…

Leave a Reply

